Up Mine, Sunshine “S/T”

Up Mine, Sunshine (not album cover)
Up Mine, Sunshine
S/T
(self released, 2008)

First, I should be clear about something. Since I am a musician and very involved in the music business/scene/whatever, I have a lot of friends interested in being reviewed on this website. Reviewing a friend’s music is difficult for obvious reasons, but when you’ve been involved in releasing that friend’s music those difficulties are amplified. Things get even trickier when the music has changed into something different than when you were previously involved. All these factors have come into play in my review of Up Mine, Sunshine’s debut, self-titled album; a weird amalgamation of psychedlic electronica weaved in and out of vocal samples and carried down Jodorowsky’s Holy Mountain on the back of cutting bass lines and hard hitting beats.

Let me quickly brief you. The Up Mine, Sunshine I once knew was a writer of bass driven post-funk, pop that wouldn’t be the least bit out of place in Factory Records’ catalog. The Talking Heads meets New Order music that was once solely composed by Matthew Beck is now a Panda Bear meets the soundtrack of Zelda styled collaboration of Matthew and his wife Ashley. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot to love and enjoy in this new Up Mine, Sunshine, but you’ll have to pardon my reeling. I’m still getting used to my dad having shaved his mustache.

Okay… Let’s move on. This album is great! There are so many layers in every track that work together to put you in a blissful trance. Each song is propelled by bongos, shakers, and tambourines while arpeggiating synths dance around the polyrhythms of bass and drums, textured field recordings, and beautiful female vocal harmonies. On occasion the layers go a bit over board and reach the precipice of ADD-ridden repetition, but that usually signals the climax or end of a song. While some of the music on the album leans towards the movement of the dance floor, even delving into the pop-sensibilities I used to know on “I Love What I Love” and “Away From My Little Bones!!!”, this isn’t club ready music. These songs are what you play while waking up in the morning to get you pumped. This is an album you enjoy with your headphones on your head and your pipe in your hand. This music deserves attention that matches the delicate and loving care that went into making it.

Even though I’m positive Up Mine Sunshine’s self-titled album can be enjoyed by many people far and wide, I’d like to think that it’s pressing of a mere 60 copies is a sign that this is music meant for friends. Friends that are interested in what you’re doing with your spare time. Friends that care enough to listen to your album on repeat from start to finish without skipping a beat. Friends that loved what you once were, but are even more excited about what you’ve become.

www.myspace.com/upminesunshine

2 responses to “Up Mine, Sunshine “S/T”

  1. well said.
    i can’t wait for the next umss record.

  2. Still trying to wedge myself all the way into the first one!

Leave a comment